5/30/2018 | 1 MINUTE READ

Thomas Sorovetz Receives AMUG Lifetime Achievement Award

The Additive Manufacturing Users Group (AMUG) presents Thomas Sorovetz with its first Lifetime Achievement Award.


Facebook Share Icon LinkedIn Share Icon Twitter Share Icon Share by EMail icon Print Icon

The Additive Manufacturing Users Group (AMUG) awarded its first Lifetime Achievement Award to Thomas Sorovetz. Sorovetz, a casting engineer at Fiat Chrysler Automobiles and AMUG’s event manager, was recognized during the group’s 30th annual conference for 25 years of service, hard work and dedication.

Joined on stage by nine past presidents, Paul Bates, AMUG president, presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to Sorovetz. Bates stated, “The common thread among these past presidents, who have held that position from 1991 onward, is Tom Sorovetz.”

During the award presentation, Gary Rabinovitz, AMUG chairman and past president, noted that Sorovetz had served under 18 of the 23 AMUG presidents. From the stage, all of the past presidents spoke highly of Sorovetz’s contributions to the success of the group’s annual conference and to the financial health of the organization.

“I am very honored and humbled to have received the AMUG Lifetime Achievement Award,” Sorovetz says. Being elected as the event manager each of the past 25 years is one of the biggest accomplishments of my life.” He continued, “I have the utmost respect for the past and present AMUG Boards and for the AMUG members. I continue to be amazed by the passion for the group and the industry. That alone has had me looking forward to each and every AMUG Conference.”

According to the organization, Sorovetz is the most-honored AMUG member as the only person to have received the three most prestigious awards that the group bestows: President’s Award (2000), DINO (Distinguished Innovator operator) Award (2001) and Lifetime Achievement Award (2018).

The custom-designed award is personalized with Sorovetz’s likeness, crafted from 3D scanning files. AMUG members Jim Charmatz (Charmskool Design), CIDEAS Inc. and RePliForm Inc. worked together to fashion the original design, print the award and embellish it with metal plating.