3/24/2016 | 2 MINUTE READ

AMUG Names Scholarship Recipients

Facebook Share Icon LinkedIn Share Icon Twitter Share Icon Share by EMail icon Print Icon

The 2016 AMUG scholarship recipients will attend the group’s annual conference April 3-7.


Facebook Share Icon LinkedIn Share Icon Twitter Share Icon Share by EMail icon Print Icon

The Additive Manufacturing Users Group (AMUG) has announced the 2016 recipients of its scholarships. Dr. Nathan Patterson, an assistant professor at Milwaukee School of Engineering, has been awarded the Randy Stevens Scholarship. Jennifer Bennett, a Ph.D. candidate at Northwestern University and research and development engineer for DMG Mori USA, has been awarded the Guy E. Bourdeau Scholarship. With these recognitions, Dr. Patterson and Ms. Bennett will attend and participate in the AMUG Conference to be held in St. Louis, Missouri., April 3-7, 2016.

Mark Barfoot, AMUG president, stated, “Nathan and Jennifer will be welcome additions to this year’s conference. What they are doing in the additive manufacturing world will make a difference, and we believe that attending the conference will have a big impact on them.” He continued, “These two individuals certainly deserve the scholarships, but it was a difficult endeavor to select from so many qualified candidates.”

The AMUG Board selected Nathan Patterson for the integration of his additive manufacturing (AM) experience and research in his engineering curricula. Patterson has been using, designing, building, inventing, and teaching others about AM technology for just over twelve years. Examples of his integration of past experience in engineering studies include lab activities that use fused deposition modeling extruders to illustrate engineering principles, such as conservation of linear momentum and Bernoulli’s equation, and a first-hand account of the design of a three-year-old boy’s prosthetic to inspire students to not give up when a design approach fails.

In his application, Patterson said, “The Randy Stevens Scholarship will allow me to better translate the current state and challenges of AM and its users to the classroom, providing students with a richer AM learning experience.”

The AMUG Board selected Jennifer Bennett for her Ph.D. research that is focused on improving the controllability of AM systems. Bennett said, “Many challenges still persist before this technology can reach its full potential. The major deficiencies are a lack of process repeatability, dimensional integrity, and material quality.” Her research seeks to address these challenges by establishing a physics-based model to inversely determine the melt pool size and cooling rate needed to achieve ideal material quality and to develop a control system to meet these conditions.

Bennett said, “If successful, this will enable quick qualification of components, increase the process autonomy, truly integrate design and manufacturing and ultimately release this technology from the hands of a few to the hands of many.”

The Randy Stevens Scholarship, founded by Randy's employer, In'Tech Industries, is awarded annually to one educator that emphasizes or focuses on additive manufacturing. The Guy E. Bourdeau Scholarship, founded by Guy's wife, Renee Bourdeau, is awarded annually to one college student.